All segments

What Is Helpdesk Shopify? An Operator's Definition

Helpdesk Shopify means connecting a dedicated ticketing platform like Gorgias or Zendesk to a store, instead of using Shopify's free, chat-only Inbox.

  • Published
  • Reading time 12 min read
  • Author Nafiul Hasan
What Is Helpdesk Shopify? An Operator's Definition. Diagram: where the reporting stops. RUN What Is Helpdesk Shopify? AnOperator's Definition REPORTEDNOT REPORTED pointerflow.com

Short answer

Helpdesk Shopify means connecting a dedicated customer-service platform — Gorgias, Zendesk, Richpanel or Re:amaze — to a Shopify store, instead of relying on Shopify's own free Inbox chat widget. The real change for an operator isn't which app answers a chat; it's that ticket volume and order-data depth start driving a pricing and integration decision.

Helpdesk Shopify is how a lot of operators phrase the search for a dedicated customer-service platform that connects to a Shopify store — Gorgias, Zendesk, Richpanel and Re:amaze are the names that come up most — rather than relying on Shopify’s own built-in Inbox. All four read a store’s orders and customers into a support ticket; none of them are Shopify products, and none of them are the same product as each other once pricing and order-data depth are compared side by side.

What’s the Difference Between a Shopify Helpdesk and Shopify’s Own Inbox?

Shopify’s own Inbox is a free chat widget built into the storefront, not a ticketing system — it has no shared email queue, no macros, and no service-level-agreement tracking, and it does not connect to third-party channels such as WhatsApp or SMS (Shopify, official app listing). Signed-in Shop account customers get personalised replies pulled from their purchase history, but a merchant fielding email tickets, phone follow-ups or a support queue that needs assigning between staff has no native tool for any of that inside Shopify.

That gap is precisely what “helpdesk Shopify” as a search term is usually asking about: not Shopify Inbox’s chat widget, but a separate paid product built to hold tickets, route them, and keep a record once the conversation moves past a single chat session. The four named above are the ones an operator is comparing against Shopify’s free tool, and against each other.

Shopify Inbox does cover real ground within its scope — it operates in more than twenty languages and reports its own analytics on orders assisted and customer satisfaction (Shopify, official app listing) — but that is a chat-session summary, not a searchable ticket record an agent can reopen weeks later when the same customer emails instead of chatting.

What Actually Changes for an Operator When They Add a Dedicated Helpdesk to Shopify?

The operator-level consequence isn’t that support gets a nicer inbox — it’s that customer service stops being a feature choice and becomes two decisions Shopify’s own Inbox never forces anyone to make: a pricing decision, because Gorgias, Zendesk, Richpanel and Re:amaze each bill on a different unit, and an integration-depth decision, because “connects to Shopify” turns out to mean something different at each one.

Shopify Inbox has no pricing decision because it is free and there is only one of it. The moment a team adds Gorgias, Zendesk, Richpanel or Re:amaze, someone has to decide whether the business is buying seats, tickets, or AI resolutions, because those three units do not cost the same thing at the same volume, and getting that unit wrong is how a plan that looked cheap on the pricing page turns out expensive on the invoice. The same choice repeats on data: a vendor’s Shopify integration might mean read-only order visibility, or it might mean an agent can cancel, refund and edit an order without leaving the ticket — and the difference is not obvious from a feature list until someone reads what each vendor’s own Shopify page actually claims.

How Do Gorgias, Zendesk, Richpanel and Re:amaze Compare on Pricing and Shopify Order-Data Sync?

No page ranking for this term puts these four side by side, and the pricing units alone make a naive comparison misleading — Gorgias bills by ticket, Zendesk and Re:amaze bill per seat, and Richpanel splits a flat seat fee from a separate AI-resolution charge.

ProviderEntry pricePricing unitShopify order-data depth
Gorgias$10/mo, 50 tickets (Basic: $60/mo, 300 tickets)Per ticket, unlimited seatsCancel, refund, duplicate and edit orders from the ticket; revenue-attribution stats; active-subscriber flag
Zendesk$19/agent/mo (Support only); Shopify sidebar needs Suite Team, $55/agent/moPer agentSeparate paid app: order summary, refunds and cancellations from the sidebar; order editing not listed
Richpanel$99/seat/mo, no per-ticket feePer seat, plus $0.20 per AI-resolved conversationDiscounts, addresses and refunds editable from the dashboard; subscription-order handling listed as in development
Re:amaze$29–$69/mo per team member by tier; $59/mo flat, capped at 500 conversationsPer seat, or flat with a conversation capReal-time order data; create, modify and manage orders from the app; refund handling not itemised in the listing

Every pricing and integration-depth figure for Gorgias, Zendesk, Richpanel and Re:amaze is vendor-reported, checked against each company’s own pricing or Shopify-integration page in September 2026 rather than a third-party summary, because two of these vendors changed a plan detail during the research for this article and a round-up page would not have caught it. The pattern worth reading out of that comparison is not which vendor is cheapest — it’s that “connects to Shopify” spans a real range, from Zendesk’s separate paid sidebar app that surfaces order data but does not list order editing, to Gorgias’s own page describing full order edits and a subscriber flag built into the base product.

At What Ticket Volume Does a Paid Helpdesk Start Paying for Itself Over Shopify’s Free Inbox?

No vendor publishes this number, because the answer depends on a support rep’s actual handle time and loaded wage, neither of which any vendor can see. What follows is an illustrative calculation with invented inputs, not a measured rate — recompute it with your own numbers before trusting the conclusion.

Assume a support rep paid a loaded $22 an hour takes six minutes to close an order-status ticket by switching between an email client and the Shopify admin with no saved reply: that ticket costs about $2.20 in labour ($22 ÷ 60 × 6). If a helpdesk’s inline order lookup and saved macros cut that average handle time in half, to three minutes, the same ticket costs about $1.10, a saving of $1.10 per ticket. Set that against Gorgias’s Basic plan at $60 a month: the plan’s fixed cost is covered once labour savings clear $60, which happens at $60 ÷ $1.10 ≈ 55 tickets a month — under two tickets a day, and far below the 300-ticket allotment the Basic plan already includes.

The number that actually varies by team is the handle-time reduction, not the arithmetic — a store whose tickets are mostly complex refund disputes will save less time per ticket from a macro than one whose tickets are mostly “where is my order,” and that mix is — metric to confirm — knowable only by pulling a week of a team’s own ticket log and timing it, which is the one step no vendor’s pricing page can do for a reader.

AI resolution adds a second lever to the same breakeven question, and it is billed on top of the seat or ticket cost above, not instead of it. Richpanel charges $0.20 for every conversation its AI Agent closes without a human touching it; Gorgias’s own pricing explanation states most plans pay $0.90 per AI resolution, rising to $1.50 for an interaction that also touches its Shopping Assistant feature (Gorgias, vendor-reported). Neither figure replaces the labour-saving arithmetic that put breakeven at about 55 tickets a month — it adds a line item — so an AI-resolution rate only earns its keep once it is measured against the labour minute it actually replaces, using the same handle-time method, rather than assumed to be free money because no seat was added.

How Should a Helpdesk Actually Integrate With Shopify Order and Customer Data?

No page ranking for “helpdesk shopify” answers this beyond a single vendor’s own pitch, and the four vendors above do not integrate at the same depth even though all four market a “Shopify integration.”

Read access — an agent seeing an order’s status, items and shipping address inside the ticket without switching tabs — is table stakes and every vendor here supports it. Write access is where the real split sits: Gorgias’s own Shopify page states an agent can cancel, refund, duplicate and edit an order from inside the ticket, and Richpanel’s integration page states discounts, addresses and refunds are editable from its dashboard, while Zendesk’s official Shopify App Store listing states refunds and cancellations are supported through its sidebar app but does not list order editing as a feature, and Re:amaze’s listing describes managing and modifying orders without itemising which specific fields that covers.

Customer data is a related but separate sync question from order data, and it is worth not assuming the two travel together. Gorgias’s own Shopify page describes automatically inserting a customer’s name, order number and shipping address into a reply and building a customisable profile per customer (Gorgias, vendor-reported); the other three vendors’ own pages describe pulling order and contact details into a ticket without naming profile customisation as a distinct, separately built feature — a difference worth asking about directly rather than assuming from the word “integration” alone.

Subscription orders are the sharpest edge of this, and it is the one gap none of the four vendors’ own marketing pages address as a Shopify-specific problem. Richpanel’s own integration page lists subscription-order handling as a feature still in development rather than shipped, as of the September 2026 check for this article — the clearest written admission among the four that recurring orders are not fully covered yet. A subscription order created by Recharge or Stay AI can carry a different set of order tags than a storefront checkout, and a helpdesk’s Shopify sync built and tested against storefront orders has no guarantee of recognising those tags correctly; the practical result is a subscription customer’s ticket showing an order that looks unfamiliar to the agent, or showing no linked order at all. Before trusting any vendor’s “connects to Shopify” claim for a subscription business specifically, the integration should be tested against a real Recharge or Stay AI order, not just a storefront one — that test is the proprietary step none of these pricing pages walk a reader through.

Where Do Operators Get “Helpdesk Shopify” Wrong?

One mistake is specific to multi-brand operators: assuming a second Shopify store needs a second Gorgias account. Gorgias’s own documentation states multi-store management is available on any helpdesk plan, and a brand with more than one connected store views and manages all of them from a single centralised dashboard rather than paying for or logging into separate accounts (Gorgias, official docs).

A second mistake is a billing-term gotcha rather than a pricing-unit one: Zendesk’s own pricing page states its advertised per-agent rates as yearly-commitment prices, so a team pricing month-to-month, or comparing Zendesk’s rate against a ticket-based Gorgias plan without checking the commitment term, is comparing numbers billed on different terms as well as different units (Zendesk, official pricing page).

How Is a Shopify Helpdesk Different From a CRM or a Live Chat Widget?

A helpdesk manages tickets with a defined start and end — a question comes in, gets answered, and closes; a CRM or email marketing platform manages an ongoing customer relationship across purchases and campaigns, with no single conversation to close. Klaviyo reads the same Shopify order data a helpdesk does, but it uses it to decide who receives a winback email, not to answer an inbound question, and the two tools are typically run alongside each other rather than one replacing the other.

A live chat widget, including Shopify’s own Inbox, is narrower still: it is one channel — the storefront chat window — rather than a queue that also holds email, and it has no ticket record once a chat session ends unless the underlying product is also a full helpdesk. Gorgias, Zendesk, Richpanel and Re:amaze all include a chat widget as one channel inside a broader ticketing product; Shopify Inbox is the chat channel with nothing behind it.

Picking a Shopify helpdesk is not a chat-widget problem — it is a systems problem, because the ticket volume, pricing unit and order-sync depth all have to be decided together rather than picked off a features page one at a time. That is the class of work we build as customer service automation — wiring a helpdesk’s Shopify sync so subscription orders resolve correctly and refunds route without a manual admin lookup, instead of discovering the gap the first time a customer notices it before the support team does.

Sources

Pricing and feature figures for Gorgias, Zendesk, Richpanel and Re:amaze are drawn from each vendor’s own pricing page, Shopify-integration page and official documentation, checked directly in September 2026 rather than from a third-party comparison or round-up, and are labelled vendor-reported or official-docs accordingly — a distinction that matters because two of the four changed a stated feature during the research for this article. The Orthofeet automation figure is Gorgias’s own published customer story and is marked vendor-reported; no independent, vendor-neutral measurement of any of these four products’ automation or resolution rates was found. The comparison structure, the pricing-unit analysis, the breakeven method and the subscription-integration testing guidance are written from first-hand customer-service-automation builds connecting Shopify stores — including subscription businesses on Recharge and Stay AI — to helpdesk platforms; the ticket-volume breakeven figure and the handle-time reduction it depends on are explicitly marked as invented, illustrative inputs rather than measured data, because no vendor or independent study publishes either.

Frequently asked

Does Gorgias charge per agent or per ticket?

Per ticket, not per agent. Gorgias's plans are priced on a monthly ticket allotment — Starter covers 50 billable tickets, Basic covers 300 — with unlimited agent seats included, and overage charged per ticket past the allotment rather than a per-seat fee (Gorgias, vendor-reported). That is the opposite pricing model from Zendesk, which charges per agent regardless of ticket count.

Does Zendesk's free trial actually test the plan tier its Shopify sidebar needs?

No. Zendesk's own pricing page states its 14-day free trial grants full access to Suite Professional, a $115-per-agent-per-month tier, while the Shopify sidebar app itself only needs the cheaper Suite Team plan at $55 per agent per month (Zendesk, official pricing page). A team trialling Zendesk for its Shopify connection is evaluating a higher tier than the one it will actually buy.

Does Zendesk's Shopify integration cost extra on top of the Suite plan?

The integration app itself is free to install, but it only works once a Zendesk Suite plan is active, and Zendesk's own Shopify App Store listing states that external charges may be billed separately from the Shopify invoice (Zendesk, official app listing). There is no Zendesk tier priced specifically for the Shopify connection — it rides on whichever Suite plan the team is already paying for.

Can a helpdesk process a Shopify refund without an agent opening the Shopify admin?

Gorgias and Richpanel both state this directly — Gorgias's own Shopify page describes cancelling, refunding, duplicating and editing orders without leaving the helpdesk, and Richpanel's Shopify integration page describes updating discounts, addresses and refunds from its dashboard (both vendor-reported). Re:amaze's Shopify App Store listing confirms order management inside the app but does not itemise refund handling specifically.

Is Richpanel's AI Agent priced separately from the seat price?

Yes. Richpanel charges $99 per seat per month for the helpdesk itself, with no additional per-ticket fee on that seat, and a separate $0.20 charge for every conversation its AI Agent resolves end to end (Richpanel, vendor-reported). A team using AI resolution alongside human seats sees both lines on the same invoice.

Does Re:amaze support more than one Shopify store on a single plan?

Re:amaze's pricing is per team member per month across Basic, Pro and Plus tiers, and its Shopify App Store listing describes managing, modifying and creating Shopify orders with real-time data inside the dashboard and mobile app (Re:amaze, official app listing), but the listing does not state a store-count limit per account. A brand running more than one Shopify storefront should confirm the multi-store limit directly with Re:amaze before assuming it is unlimited.

What happens if a store goes over its Gorgias ticket allotment mid-month?

The account is not cut off. Gorgias's own explanation of its billing states that exceeding the monthly ticket limit triggers a per-ticket overage charge rather than blocking incoming messages, so support keeps working while the extra tickets are billed on top of the plan (Gorgias, vendor-reported). A team that regularly overages is usually a sign the next tier up is already the cheaper option.

Do subscription orders from Recharge show up correctly in a Shopify helpdesk?

Not automatically, and not identically across vendors. Richpanel's own Shopify integration page lists subscription-order handling as a feature still in development rather than shipped (Richpanel, vendor-reported, checked September 2026), and a subscription order created by Recharge or Stay AI can carry different tags than a storefront checkout, which is exactly the kind of order a helpdesk's Shopify sync was not necessarily built or tested against.

Does Re:amaze require a credit card to start its free trial?

No. Re:amaze's own pricing page states its 14-day free trial includes full access to its top Plus-tier feature set and does not require a credit card to start (Re:amaze, official pricing page). A team can test the actual Shopify integration depth before any billing decision, rather than trialling a stripped-down tier.

Do these helpdesks support channels beyond email and chat, like SMS or WhatsApp?

Coverage varies by vendor and by plan. Gorgias's higher tiers add channels such as voice and SMS numbers on top of email and chat; Zendesk's channel support depends on which Suite tier and add-ons are active; Re:amaze and Richpanel both centre on email, chat and social messaging. Channel coverage is worth confirming against a vendor's current plan comparison page before assuming a lower tier includes it.

Is there a genuinely free dedicated helpdesk for Shopify, or only Shopify's own Inbox?

Shopify's own Inbox is the free option, and it is a chat widget rather than a full ticketing system (Shopify, official app listing). Every dedicated helpdesk named in this article — Gorgias, Zendesk, Richpanel, Re:amaze — is a paid product once a trial period ends; none currently offers a permanently free ticketing tier for a live Shopify store.

Does adding an AI agent to a helpdesk reduce the number of paid human seats a team needs?

It can reduce ticket load per seat rather than seat count directly, since most of these plans still price the helpdesk seat separately from the AI resolution fee. Gorgias's own published case study for Orthofeet reports 56% automation reached within two months of adoption (Courtney Bajek, Customer Service Lead, Orthofeet, via Gorgias, vendor-reported) — a deflection rate, not a stated headcount reduction, and the two do not automatically move together.

Next step

Is this your customer service ai problem, or a symptom of another one?

Bring your numbers — the churn split, the decline rate, whatever your flows are earning — and we will tell you which of them is the expensive one.

Book a call →